24
May
09

Culture, or lack thereof

Eating in the dining hall can be one of the more intellectually challenging and stimulating parts of my day. It’s the time of day when I am educated in matters that I should have been formally schooled in before coming to college. My pre-college education is needless to say very different from the ones that my classmates here had. I was taught the hard sciences all throughout secondary school, and my education in the humanities came to an abrupt stop when I completed O-Levels. Even then, I am only starting to realize how inadequate that education was. 

Have a look at the following painting depicting roughly a hundred historically prominent people:

How many of these historically significant persons did my school see fit to include in the history curriculum? I can count them all in one hand: Winston Churchill and Adolf Hitler (from the WWII chapter of Form 3 History). Period. 

This is deplorable.  

0 Responses to “Culture, or lack thereof”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories


